Lhasa - Mt. Kailash - Guge Kingdom Tour

Lhasa - Mt. Kailash - Guge Kingdom Tour

Lhasa - Mt. Kailash - Guge Kingdom Tour The Kingdom of Guge, founded in 868 and became a focal point for the preservation of Buddhism in Tibet until the 17th century. After the assassination of King Lang Darma in 842 by his own brother, Buddhism in Tibet was completely snuffed out for nearly 100 years. In 1040, a renowned Indian Master named Atisha arrived in Guge Kingdom and spent some times at Toling Monastery where he created a resurgence of interest in Buddhism which eventually spread all over Tibet. Tsaparang and Toling retained their importance within Western Tibet as a political and religious center until the 17th Century. Today, more than 300 years later, all the remains is a huge complex of caves, living quarters and temples, some of it in an excellent state of preservation, the rest in ruins. This place can be visited in combination with Mt. Kailash and Lake Manasarovar via either the northern route (Shiquanhe) or from southern route via Saga - Paryang and Manasarovar. The tour itinerary can be varied according to the time frame and places you would like to cover within the itinerary. Below, we have designed an itinerary that commences from Lhasa. In Lhasa, we spent a couple of days sightseeing. After that we continue our journey to Western Tibet via major highlighted places of central Tibet (Gyantse, Shigatse Sakya etc.). The tour eventually takes us to the Guge Kingdom and toward Nepal via Zhang-Mu (the Tibetan border town).  

Route: Lhasa - Mt. Kailash - Guge Kingdom and toward to Nepal via Zhang-Mu
Mode of transport: Land-cruiser
Maximum elevation: 5400m.

Detail itinerary

Day 01: Fly Kathmandu to Lhasa (3650m).
Day 02-3: Lhasa Sightseeing Tours:
Day 04: Lhasa - Gyantse (3650m / 260 Kms).
Day 05: Gyantse - Xigatse (3900 / 90 Kms).
Day 06: Xigatse – Latse (4000m / 180 Kms).
Day 07: Latse to Saga
Day 08: Saga to Paryang
Day 09: Prayang to Lake Manasarovar (4560m) Beyond Paryang
Day 10: Manasarovar Today we enjoy the tranquility at the lake,
Day 11: Mansarovar to Darchen (4560m)
Day 12: Kailash Kora / Parikrama - Darchen to Dirapuk Gomba The Kora / Parikrama
Day 13: Kailash Kora / Parikrama - Diraphuk to ZutulPuk Gompa (4790m)
Day 14: Kailash Kora / Parikrama - Zutul-Puk to Darchen (4560m)
Day 15: Finish trek and drive to Tirtha Puri
Day 16: TirthaPuri / Guge Kingdom
Day 17: Sightseeing around
Day 18: Guge Kingdom / Tirthapuri
Day 19: Tirthapuri / Gossul Gomba
Day 20: Gossul Gomba / Paryang
Day 21: Paryang / Saga
Day 22: Saga / Kerung
Day 23: Nyalam / Kerung Border and Pick up and drive to Kathmandu.


Tibet Trekking